Magazine Button
Dubai Computer Group elects new board and committee members for 2017-18

Dubai Computer Group elects new board and committee members for 2017-18

Editor's ChoiceEvents
From amongst elected board members, Dharmendra Sawlani is now the President of Dubai Computer Group for the term 2017-18.

The Dubai Computer Group successfully completed the election of its new board members for the year 2017-18 on 14 December. The election was held by electronic voting at its annual get together, which also coincided with 12 years of its existence.

As a practice recently adopted, Dubai Computer Group retires its board members at the end of two years and re-elects a new board. This is to allow new members to participate and grow the community through voluntary activities and regular networking meetings.

The eleven elected board members at the end of the voting were Ashok Kumar, Bharat Kewlani, Dharmendra Sawlani, Farah Anwar, Hiren Vadodaria, Mohamed Giado, Raees Ahmed Rohile, Rakeesh Bora, Rishi Shah, Sachin Gehani, Sanjay Bansal.

Close to 100 members of the Dubai Computer Group were present to vote for their choice of eleven candidates for the 2017-18 board membership. Only one vote per member company was allowed.

A nominated observer from the Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Mohammed Khalid Mohammed Bin Suliman, Senior Manager of Member Relations, of which Dubai Computer Group is a member, impartially monitored the proceedings including the electronic voting.

The candidates standing for the 2017-18 board elections were allowed to make a short introduction of themselves to the members present at the annual get together. After the introduction, the Dubai Computer Group members were invited to register their presence and pick their username and password details at random by draw of lots. After picking their username and password details the members proceeded to vote electronically using various stations. The voting choices once completed were kept anonymous across the entire proceedings.

The results of the voting were announced a short while later at the same forum, after the voting had been completed. The elections were announced to have been successfully completed by a vote of thanks.

After the election of the Dubai Computer Group board members, a meeting was convened by Suchit Kumar who briefed first time board members on their regulatory obligations. He also opened the forum for coopting two additional board members and appointment of office bearers.

Rakesh Bora, senior member of Dubai Computer Group, proposed the names of ex-president Dubai Computer Group Shailendra Rughwani and Suchit Kumar, who were unanimously coopted into the board taking the total number of members to 13.

The new board members also unanimously accepted the resolution of the previous board and nominated Khalaf Al Otaiba to the board with the post of Chairman.

All the proposed office bearer positions got unanimously supported by the board members. The final list of Dubai Computer Group office bearers and board members for the term 2017-18 appears below:

Office bearers

  • Khalaf Al Otaiba, Chairman
  • Dharmendra Sawlani, President
  • Ashok Kumar, Vice President
  • Suchit Kumar, General Secretary
  • Sanjay Bansal, Treasurer

Board members

  • Bharat Kewlani
  • Farah Anwar
  • Hiren Vadodaria
  • Mohamed Giado
  • Raees Ahmed Rohile
  • Rakeesh Bora
  • Rishi Shah
  • Sachin Gehani
  • Shailendra Rughwani

After accepting the post of President of Dubai Computer Group, Dharmendra Sawlani gave his acceptance statement.

“It is an honor for me to be elected as the President after serving on the Dubai Computer Group board as General Secretary for three years. With this honor comes great responsibility. I am hoping to live up to the expectations and do justice to the faith placed in me. I will endeavor to help our members triumph over the challenges we face in today’s ever evolving business landscape.”

“Our objective as a team will be to work towards the goal of increasing unity, security, profitability, integrity, growth and education in our industry. These goals were set by our founding members and hold value to date. We have many ideas and now with the help of young dynamic team it is the time to make ideas happen.”

Suchit Kumar expressed his gratitude to the board for re-imposing the trust on him and assured that as a team, the board will work towards emboldening the sense of confidence to the industry during its most challenging time. He also voiced his appreciation of the young team’s zeal to enhance the scope of business for members.

The new board proposed to have six committees and nominated the members below to lead the respective committees.

Networking and business event committee

  • Dharmendra Sawlani [Team Lead]
  • Suchit Kumar
  • Ashok Kumar

PR and marketing committee

  • Suchit Kumar [Team Lead]
  • Dharmendra Sawlani
  • Farah Anwar
  • Rishi Shah

Membership drive committee

  • Bharat Kewlani [Team Lead]
  • Mohamed Giado
  • Hiren Vadodaria
  • Ashok Kumar

Sports committee

  • Sachin Gehani [Team Lead]
  • Mohamed Giado
  • Sanjay Bansal

Corporate social responsibility committee

  • Sanjay Bansal [Team Lead]
  • Farah Anwar

Compliance and grievances committee

  • Bharat Kewlani [Team Lead]
  • Raees Ahmed

Dubai Computer Group was founded in August 2007 to represent the interests of the computer industry in the city of Dubai. At present it has grown to represent close to 200 companies comprising of IT distributors, resellers, system integrators, software and networking companies.

DCG is run by an elected board of directors and has a fully equipped office with an executive secretary running the daily affairs of the association. DCG aims to bridge the gap between hardware and software manufacturers and dealers, uniting them, helping forge new trade alliances forming a network in the industry.

DCG provides a platform where diverse subjects such as custom duty laws, new technologies, business trends, service issues, credit concerns, payment terms, can be discussed.


Eleven elected board members at the end of voting.
Eleven elected board members at the end of voting.


Suchit Kumar briefs members about the election procedure.


From amongst elected board members, Dharmendra Sawlani is now the President of Dubai Computer Group for the term 2017-18.
From amongst elected board members, Dharmendra Sawlani is now the President of Dubai Computer Group for the term 2017-18.


Shailendra Rughwani addresses members at 12th year annual meeting.


Dubai Computer Group members at its 12th year annual meeting.


Username and password were picked at random from the registration desk.


Members register prior to electronic voting.


Electronic voting by members of Dubai Computer Group.


Proceedings was monitored by representative from Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry.


Dubai Computer Group twelve-year anniversary cake.


Cutting the twelve-year anniversary cake.
Click below to share this article

Browse our latest issue

Intelligent Tech Channels

View Magazine Archive